News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

U14 hurlers exit Brendan Linnane Cup

posted 7 Mar 2012, 15:22 by Unknown user   [ updated 7 Mar 2012, 15:26 ]
Gort 2-6, Kinvara 1-3

The Kinvara U14 lads travelled to Gort last Sunday and played in a lively encounter between these two local rival clubs. In the end, the Gort lads proved the superior and just about edged this contest. In saying that, the Kinvara lads did quite well for their first outing of the year and this match should prove a good springboard for future battles ahead of them in the coming months.

Kinvara, playing against a bit of a breeze, started the brighter, and took an early lead through a Liam Byrne free after Colm Keady was fouled. But the Gorts lads settled into their stride and scored 2-3 during the first half to give them a half-time lead of 2-3 to 0-1. Kinvara did put pressure on the Gort defence late in the half but the Gort defence held firm and did not give the Kinvara forwards much time on the ball.

In the second half, the Kinvara boys put in a great effort early on, and they were rewarded with an early Liam Byrne goal. Keelan O'Rourke pointed a great effort to now leave only 4 points between them on 2-3 to 1-2. But Gort replied with a couple of points of their own to keep Kinvara at bay. Liam Byrne pointed another free, but Gort replied with one of their own. The vital exta goals that were much needed for Kinvara unfortunately never came about and so Gort held out for a solid win. 

There was some good performances throughout for Kinvara. In goals, Cathal O'Dwyer made a couple of vital saves in the second half to help keep Kinvara in the match, while all backs defenced soundly. Player to impress most was Brendan Connolly who applied himself to good effect. Both midfielders and forwards worked hard for the cause, and were unlucky not to have tagged on a few more scores.

Overall not a bad start but room for improvement for the next big outing and that being on 31st March in the Toddie Byrne Feile na nGael Cup.

Kinvara side:
Cathal O'Dwyer, Louis Fossatti, Patrick O'Gallachoir, Seanie Cahill, Odhran Keane, NeilHuban, Brendan Connolly, Keelan O'Rourke 0-1, Conor O'Shea, Gerard Linnane, Colm Keady, Jeff Stephens, Liam Byrne 1-2 (0-2 frees), Peter Mulleady.