News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

Kinvara v Beagh........previous SHC meetings

posted 29 Apr 2014, 02:57 by Garret Byrne
Kinvara and Beagh were two old rivals in Junior hurling in the old South Board, but it took til 1986 for the two sides to meet for the first time in the Senior Hurling Championship. In total the two have met 7 times, with this weekends tie being the 8th. 
In the previous 7 matches, it is the Beagh men who have the advantage with 4 wins, with Kinvara having two wins, and just the 1 draw.
The 7 meetings can be divided into three different periods:
The two clubs met in successive years in the mid 80's with wins going both the Beagh way. This was one of Beaghs best eras, while the Kinvara side was in transition from the team that reached the 1979 final. In 1986 the two met in Ballindereen with Beagh winning 4-10 to 2-10, with Kinvara behind 2-4 to 0-1 after only 6 minutes. In 1987, the final result was the same, although this time it was Kinvara who started the better. We led 1-9 to 0-3 at the interval, but it was Beagh who won by 3-11 to 1-12.

The 2000's
They clashed in the years 2003, 2006 and 2008. Kinvara won in 2003, with the introduction to the side of several of the U21 county winning teams. 2006 was another bad year for Kinvara, failing to win a championship match, and losing to Beagh in the process. Although we did turn our fortunes around the following year to reach the 2007 county final, we met Beagh again the following year in 2008 with both sides playing out a draw.

The 2010s
There has been two clashes in this decade already and its only 2014! In 2010 Kinvara followed up after our opening match win against Clarinbridge, with another victory over Beagh, in a year in which we reached the preliminary quarter-finals where we lost to Craughwell. Our most recent clash was in 2011 when Beagh shot out of the traps in the first half in Loughrea, and had the match pretty much wrapped up by the interval.

So there you go. Thats the stage set and thats the history. 

SHC Round 1, in Kenny Park, Athenry Sunday 3rd May at 6:30pm
The winner heads to the Championship group stages - the loser heads for a second chance in the Round 2 draw.  


 Year Stage Winner
 1986 Group  Beagh 4-10 beat Kinvara 2-10
 1987 Group Beagh 3-11 beat Kinvara 1-12
 2003 Group Kinvara 3-12 beat Beagh 1-13
 2006 Group Beagh 2-10 beat Kinvara 0-10
 2008 Group Kinvara 0-18 drew Beagh 0-18
 2010 Group Kinvara 2-13 beat Beagh 2-10
 2012 Group Beagh 5-17 beat Kinvara 1-11