News...LATEST!!!‎ > ‎

From the 1962 Archives....Kinvara v Beagh

posted 27 Apr 2014, 11:50 by Garret Byrne
The old South Board disbanded in 1975, but not before many a good battle between Kinvara and Beagh. Both clubs were Junior sides in the early 1960s and met in the 1962 South Board Junior Final.

Kinvara were the defending champions, and had a handy team backboned by players who won County Junior medals in 1959, and added to by some newer lads. And it was the Seasiders who won the day in 1962 after a strong opening half display that saw them leading 3-8 to 0-3 at the halfway stage. Unfortunately for Kinvara we came up against a good Moycullen team in the county semi-final and narrowly lost that match by 3-4 to 2-5. 

Here is the Connacht Tribune match report of the day in 1962.



Kinvara beat Beagh in the South Board Hurling Final, at Craughwell on Sunday. Kinvara, an up and coming team, played cool, skilful hurling.

Kinvara had fine defenders in Michael Mahon (goal), Linnane, Halvey and Huban (fullbacks), Whelan, Connors and Shaughnessy (half backs). At centrefield Sexton and the cool, resourceful and accurate Enda Muldoon held sway, while Colm Muldoon and Curtin starred in the attack. 

The best of Beagh's players were Loughrey, Fogarty, McMahon, Hehir and Mahon in defence; Nolan at centrefield; Dolan, Jordan, Collins and McGuane in attack.

Scorers - first half:
Kinvara - C. Muldoon (1-2), M. Curtin (1-1), E. Muldoon (1-1), D. Forde (0-2), K. Sexton (0-1), J. Connolly 0-1.
Beagh - M. McGuane, S. Collins and J. Linnane (0-1 each).

Scorers - second half:
Kinvara - C. Muldoon 0-3, M. Curtin 0-2, E. Muldoon 0-2, M. Connolly 0-1, Joe MItchell 0-1, D. Forde 0-1.
Beagh - D. Whelan 2-0 and M. McGuane 1-0;

Michael Mahon, Martin Halvey, John Linnane, Padraig Huban, Mattie Whelan, Willie Connors, Paul O'Shaughnessy, Kevin Sexton, Enda Muldoon, Colm Muldoon, John Connolly, Mick Curtin, Donough Forde, Joe Mitchell, Michael Connolly.

T. Dolan, S. Loughrey, M. McMahon, W. Fogarty, B. McGuane, M. Hehir, T. Mahon, L. Nolan, B. Burke, S. Killeen, O. DOlan, D. Jordan, S. Collins, M. McGuane, P. Linnane. Subs: D. Whelan, M. Loughrey.

Referee: Mr. Mick Quaine.